jump to navigation

Romans 1:18-20, That’s Not Fair October 2, 2012

Posted by theronwatson in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Romans 1:18-20

I had a dream one night where my dad and I arrived at the gates of heaven at the same time. A book was opened to determine if our names were in it. They found mine and said, “Come with us this way and receive your eternal reward.” But, my dad’s name was not found. They said, “I’m sorry, you can’t come in. You’ll have to go through that door.” As they led him away, to eternal destruction, he looked at me and said, “Why didn’t you tell me? I would have listened to you, you’re my son. You were a preacher. Why didn’t you tell me?” I was so burden by it, I asked him about his relationship with Christ the next time I saw him.

I wonder what others have said as their verdicts were read as they stood before the gates of heaven, just waiting to get in, only to find out they would not be let in.

Let consider the text.

Paul began the body of his letter to the church at Rome not describing God’s goodness, kindness, benevolence, righteousness, or any other of God’s countless attributes, but with God’s wrath.

“The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness” Romans 1:18

Why does Paul begin on such a negative note?

He begins at the point of humanity’s greatest need. We need a Savior.

Everyone wants to go to heaven. Most think that they are going to heaven. But that is not what Jesus taught. Jesus taught;

“Broad is the path that leads to destruction… Narrow is the way that leads to life, and only a few will find it.” Matthew 7:13, 14

Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ Matthew 7:21-23

When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”  Matthew 25:31-34, 41, 46

What possible excuse could they give? Could they argue that it’s not fair?

It is absolutely fair.

There is enough evidence within the created order to point to the existence of God leaving mankind, “without excuse.” (v.20)

We marvel at the grandeur of the night’s sky, the majesty of the mountains, the vastness of the sea and the complexities of life. These are called “General Revelation,” and are available to everyone. Still, there may be some who argue that they did not know; no one ever told them. So, God took it a step further and revealed Himself in a very personal way, a “Special Revelation.” He sent Jesus.

“The Word became flesh and dwelt among us…” John 1:14

Jesus is the Savior that rescues us from the penalty of our sin. He is the Divine Revelation of God.

What will you say when you get to heaven?

 

If you have questions or comments about something you read here today or on another post, feel free to contact me by email : t_watsup@yahoo.com

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

