jump to navigation

Simple Prayers August 10, 2011

Posted by theronwatson in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Prayer is the simplest yet most complex thing in the world. It is simple because it is just a conversation you are having with another person. It is complex because the other person you are talking to is God. Let that sink in for a second and the profundity begins to be recognizable.
I learned how to pray early in life. In my early years we attended church as a family. I sat through Sunday School and learned little songs and repetitious prayers. “Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.” Or another version says, “Guide me safely through the night, and wake me with the morning light.” These and other repetitious prayers are good for children but sooner or later we must mature in our faith and pray with a greater focus and earnestness.
I had been praying the same way for a while when I was stirred in my spirit by a young teenager. He is the son of a pastor friend of mine who invited his young son to pray at the conclusion of church service one night. I was struck by his sincerity and genuineness. He spoke to God with a childlike faith that I think we can all learn from. You see, he said, “Please…” “Please God, take care of this. Please God do that.” It was so real. I changed my approach to prayer from then on.
It is simple. It is a three line prayer that goes like this, “Dear God, I need a….. Please would you…..?” That’s it.
So, now, you can try it.
“Dear God, I am struggling. Please would you help me?”
“Dear God, I need a new job. Please would you help me find one?”
“Dear God, I want a deeper, more meaningful relationship with you. Please would you help me have one?”
That’s it. It really is the simplest thing in the world until the reality sets in that you are talking to God.
If you have questions or comments about something you read here today or on another post, feel free to contact me by email : t_watsup@yahoo.com
You can also check out my “Church Where You Are .org” page on Facebook. “Like” it and stay up to date when I post. “Share” the page with your friends.
Thanks for reading.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

