jump to navigation

God’s Faithfulness With Money May 12, 2011

Posted by theronwatson in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

There are times in our lives that we look back on having overcome the difficulty we found ourselves in at the moment and realize we were not alone.
College, for some, is a time of struggle and never enough. We spend so much of our time and effort on study there is little time or energy for anything else. Money, especially, is always short. I had finished college and was on to Seminary in New Orleans when this story takes place. I was in between jobs. The economy was bad. Jobs were scarce. We were barely making it. I was sitting at our dining table agonizing over the bills. There was just enough money to pay this one bill or these three small bills, but not enough for all. And, they were all due. What is a person to do? I put my head down and began to pray.
God has blessed me with good health, a great family and a sound mind. These are not to be taken lightly. But, there is always a need that seems to fall short. In this period of my life, like in others, it is money. I have never been one to cut corners and bend principles to make a buck. Money is not the main motivation of my life. It is important though, and it is extremely necessary to pay bills and get by. As I prayed, I reflected on the many blessings in my life God had already given me. But, I needed more. There just was not enough money. I asked Him what I should do about these bills. As I poured out my fears and frustrations to the Divine, I heard a voice almost audibly say, “Do what you can with what you’ve got and I’ll get you some more later.”
I don’t know if the answer came because of general faithfulness to Him or because we tried even in the desperate times to give our tithe. But, the answer of reassurance came nonetheless. I have looked back over the checkbook statements from those days of Seminary. The numbers do not add up. There is no way we should have made it. But, we did. I am convinced it was because of God’s faithfulness.
You too can trust God with the big things as well as the small burdens of your life. If you’ve tried everything else and found it lacking, why not give God a try? You will find Him faithful.
If you have questions or comments about something you read here today or on another post, feel free to contact me by email : churchconcerns@yahoo.com

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

